TML - The Teaching Mission Website

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A Little Personal History from Your Admin, Ron Besser  (Read 1114 times)

RonBesser

• Administrator
    • View Profile

Hello All, I am Ron Besser and we placed this site up for your use in anticipation of a new Teaching Mission starting sometime in May or June of this year (2016).

Professionally, I've spent most of my working career in civil engineering firms, but spirit and learning about it has been always a high priority.  I have a BA degree in History and attended two colleges to get it:  York College of Pennsylvania, and Gettysburg College, which is located on the edge of the Civil War Battle Ground 30 miles west of York, PA.  I was clerking in a little bookstore for the centennial reenactment of the 1863 battle down Baltimore Street and York Street when Lee tried to storm and take the village.  My great grand parents had a farm out toward the Emmetsburg Road, and they were all tied up and held in their cellar, and all their barrels of flour and salted pork were taken for the rebel army to snack on. 1963 was also the year I was drafted into the military to serve in the Air Force for four years.   I really had it hard as I served in wonderful old England which was my home station for three years.

I was discharged from the service in January 1968, the day the Pueblo was seized off the coast of North Korea, and they held me six hours until they got word from the White House, discharges could start again because no general war was to be entered into at that time.  When things calmed down and I found employment I drifted in beliefs and education and in spirit for ten years until I got attached to the Urantia Book in 1978.  I had so many groups I lost count, but by the time group forming was over in 2000, I had at least ten to my credit.